Studio work developments

29Dec09

Since the beginning of the MA I’ve mainly been making prints using the heat transfer method.  I find it an excellent way of working through my ideas as it is an instant print method. The down-side for me is that it only really works with synthetics. Although there are some polyesters out there that don’t make me wince, on the whole I don’t want to work with synthetic fibres unless I find a sustainable and environmentally friendly way of doing it. [note to self: need to find a local supplier of recyclable polyester]

The main bulk of the work I’ve undertaken this term was inspired by this photograph I took in Botswana in August 2008. 

I would have sat and drawn the reeds but there was always the possibility that a lion or elephant was lurking nearby.  I take photographs when there isn’t the opportunity to sit and draw though I do think that the resulting work is different – i.e. it’s a different feeling drawing from a photograph than drawing something in situ.  

What I like about this picture is that it already looks abstract and also if turned to a vertical image, the reeds start to form a sort of spine.

The pattern that the reeds make suggested a network of stitches and I started to stitch into heat transfer paper in order to print out a ‘negative’ pattern that the stitches would make in the fabric. 

This process led to me cutting slits into the transfer paper and printing. 

At first I was only concerned with printing up the pieces of paper with the pieces cut out until I was left with a handful of coloured heat transfer paper cuts.  I threw them down on the fabric in the press and hey presto the thin shards of paper created a print of intricate paperfolds.  

This tiny fabric sketch informed the direction of subsequent work and I started painting up papers with different textures in order to cut out the shapes and print.

I started to scale up some of these sketches to form the following larger pieces which measure about 1.5 metres.


At this time I was looking a lot at Mid-Century Modern textile design and the patterns created by Lucienne Day, Marlene Mahler and Jacqueline Groag. Associated research appears in the next post.

No Responses Yet to “Studio work developments”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

